Community Award

/Community Award
Community Award 2017-06-01T17:31:06-06:00

Gloria Coles

Gloria Coles Leadership Heart of the Community Award

Leadership Donelson-Hermitage created this award in the fall of 2010 to recognize excellence in community leadership as demonstrated by a long-standing commitment to the advancement of the Donelson, Hermitage and adjacent communities.  This first annual award was given to Gloria Coles in December of 2010 in recognition of her many accomplishments and dedication to our community.


Gloria Coles has a rich history of volunteerism and community service in the Donelson-Hermitage area.  Now retired, she served as the Physician Services Coordinator at Summit Medical Center.  She also served as a member of the American Cancer Society, the Sales and Marketing Executives of Nashville, Senior Citizens, Inc., the Donelson Business & Professional Women, the Donelson-Hermitage Chamber of Commerce, and was appointed to the Board of Directors of Cloverbottom Developmental Center by Governor Ned McWherter.

Gloria is a former Explorer’s advisor to the Boy Scouts and served on the Martin Luther King, Jr. Health Science School’s Curriculum Committee, the Mayor’s Task Force on Airport Expansion, and Metro’s Community Disaster Readiness Council, and is a graduate of Leadership Donelson-Hermitage’s inaugural Class of 1999.

Throughout her career she was also named Woman of the Year by both the Davidson County Business & Professional Women and the Donelson-Hermitage Chamber of Commerce.

If you would like to nominate someone for the Gloria Coles Heart of the Community Award, send an email to

Criteria for Nominees

  • Demonstrates effective leadership abilities
  • Actively participates in community activities and events
  • Promotes volunteerism
  • Displays characteristics of Leadership Program tenets
  • Demonstrates effective mentoring/development of others
  • Demonstrates commitment and ongoing support of broad-based community service



  • Graduate of Leadership Donelson-Hermitage
  • Alumni in good standing
  • Minimum of 10 years of documented involvement to support achievement of criteria as listed above


Past Recipients

  • 2015 – Phyllis Williams
  • 2014 – Floyd Shechter
  • 2013 – Willie McDonald
  • 2012 – Phil Ponder
  • 2011 – Larry Keeton
  • 2010 – Gloria Coles